In Nevada, drivers can take defensive driving to reduce the number of points on their driving record or complete a plea bargain agreement. Some drivers can also complete defensive driving to earn a discount on auto insurance rates. Of course, anyone can take defensive driving to learn how to become a safer driver and prevent accidents and moving violations.
Online Defensive Driving Course for $13.95
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Dismiss your ticket online, on your schedule
- Upgrade and print your certificate from home
- Approved by all Nevada courts
Defensive Driving Courses in Nevada
Nevada operates on a demerit point system, with points earned for certain motor vehicle offenses. Points range from 1 to 8 for any particular offense, with one point for driving 1 – 10 miles per hour over the posted speed limit and eight for reckless driving.
Drivers who receive 12 or more points in a 12 month period will have their license suspended for six months. Demerit points for a violation can be removed in two ways. Drivers can wait, as points for a violation are deleted 12 months after the date of conviction. Or, drivers can complete a traffic safety course, otherwise known as defensive driving. This course is available to drivers who have reached three or more points.
Best Online Defensive Driving Courses in Nevada
Because of the nature of Defensive Driving, we recommend taking an online course to dismiss your traffic ticket. In today’s busy and pandemic ridden world, it seems that privacy is at an absolute premium. When it comes to avoiding a large fee with the state and points on your driving record, online defensive driving is the most convenient and easiest way to dismiss your ticket. You don’t even have to leave your house!
Approved by All Nevada Courts
- 6 Million tickets dismissed and counting
- Fastest course allowed by law
- Approved by the Nevada DMV
- USA based customer service
- Funny course content that's easy!
Nevada Defensive Driving Course Eligibility
Nevada allows drivers who have accumulated points on their driving record to complete defensive driving. The course is also available to drivers as part of a plea bargain agreement with the court. Are you eligible? You’ll need to meet the following criteria:
- must hold a valid driver’s license
- must not hold a commercial driver’s license
- must have accumulated between 3 and 11 points (if used for points reduction and not completed as part of a plea bargain)
- you may not attend traffic school more than once in a 12 month period to remove points from your driving record
If you’re not sure you’re eligible to complete a defensive driving program for points reduction, it’s best to contact the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles first. This will ensure that you’ll get credit for your points reduction as a part of the class. If you’re taking defensive driving as part of a plea deal with the court, you will need to directly contact the court to receive permission to take the course. If you enroll without permission or eligibility, you may not receive credit for completing the course, and no refunds will result.
Nevada Traffic Ticket Dismissal with Defensive Driving
Drivers who already have demerit points on their driving record can take defensive driving to remove three points from their record each year. But some drivers can avoid adding points for traffic tickets to their record by entering into a plea bargain with the courts. Drivers who use a plea bargain will be able to complete a traffic safety course, or defensive driving, to avoid receiving demerit points.
If you’re entering into a plea bargain, you will need to work with the court directly to get approval to take defensive driving instead of receiving points. Typically, there will be a deadline for completing the course, and you’ll be required to submit your certificate of completion to the court to have the points waived. Be sure that you meet all court requirements for the plea bargain, or you may not get credit for taking the course. This can result in receiving demerit points and other drawbacks, so it’s best to stick to the rules.
Defensive Driving Courses Available in Nevada
Nevada’s defensive driving courses will teach you how to become a safer driver and follow the rules of the road. The course is five hours long and can be taken either online or in person. Often, Nevada traffic schools will allow students to take the course in multiple sessions. Online, you’ll typically be able to log in and log out at your convenience. The actual curriculum presented will depend on the traffic school, but typically, you can expect to learn about the following topics in your defensive driving course:
- defensive driving techniques
- establishing safe driving habits
- proper technique for following distance, maintaining speed, passing, and more
- avoiding dangerous driving habits such as distracted or drowsy driving, driving impaired, and road rage
- collision avoidance techniques
- dealing with unsafe driving conditions including traffic, weather, and accidents
- details on vehicle safety features such as seat belts, airbags, and anti-lock brake systems
- Nevada’s current state traffic laws and regulations
Defensive Driving for Car Insurance Discounts in Nevada
Even if you don’t have points on your record or need to enter into a plea bargain, it’s a good idea to take a defensive driving course, as most drivers can benefit from learning how to drive more safely. Plus, insurance companies may even offer you a discount on your auto insurance premiums just for completing the course.
Nevada Defensive Driving Insurance Discounts
Most Nevada auto insurance companies will offer drivers a discount on auto insurance rates for voluntarily completing a defensive driving course. You can expect to see a discount between 5% and 20%; however, most will have discounts around 10% for the average driver.
Nevada Defensive Driving Insurance Discount Eligibility
Nevada allows all drivers to receive a discount on auto insurance rates for completing defensive driving courses. Of course, it’s still up to the individual insurance company to determine whether they will extend the discount or not, and many have specific eligibility rules. Some insurance companies will only offer defensive driving discounts to drivers with a clean driving record or certain age groups like elderly drivers or new teenage drivers. However, any driver in Nevada can qualify for discount eligibility.
It’s best to contact your insurance company before enrolling in a defensive driving course for insurance discounts. You can verify your eligibility and find out how much you can save. If your auto insurance company doesn’t offer discounts, consider shopping around to find a company that does, as this is a common practice.
Insurance Defensive Driving Courses Available in Nevada
Students who enroll in defensive driving for insurance purposes will take the same course as drivers seeking a plea bargain or points reduction. This course offers excellent instruction in defensive driving and safe driving habits and can teach you how to become a better driver, avoid accidents, and avoid earning traffic tickets. Curriculum depends on the traffic school you attend, but most Nevada traffic schools will offer instruction in topics including:
collision avoidance yielding the right of the way carefully maintaining speed passing large vehicles safely spotting hazards on the road maintaining a safe following distance watching out for pedestrians and bikers avoiding drunk, drowsy, distracted, or aggressive driving using vehicle safety features Nevada traffic laws and regulations
Enroll in a Nevada Defensive Driving Course
Start your defensive driving course today. You’ll find state-approved traffic schools offering defensive driving courses online and in the classroom in our directory.
Henderson Defensive Driving
Defensive Driving can be taken for as little as $13.95 to dismiss your traffic ticket. Top Henderson online defensive driving schools inside!
Las Vegas Defensive Driving
Want the best defensive driving course in Las Vegas NV? Top traffic School Picks: A-1 Driving School, Nevada Driving School & IDriveSafely
North Las Vegas Defensive Driving
Want the best defensive driving courses in North Las Vegas, NV? Top Picks: Nevada Driving School, Safeway Driving School & I Drive Safely
Sparks Defensive Driving
Dismiss your ticket in Sparks Nevada for just $13.95. With a Nevada Online Defensive Driving course, you can take traffic school at home!
Reno Defensive Driving
Dismiss your ticket in Reno Nevada for just $13.95. With a Nevada Online Defensive Driving course, you can take traffic school at home!