After getting a traffic citation, you can use Kentucky defensive driving. This course will allow you to dismiss the ticket and keep your insurance rates from going up. There are many reasons to complete defensive driving in Kentucky.
Save an Average of $961 per Year on Car Insurance! – Gabi Insurance Compares 40+ Providers for Free!
Required to Provide Rideshare
In Kentucky, if you want to work for Uber, Lyft, or another rideshare program, you have to complete the defensive driving course. In addition, you will need a completion certificate to provide for the company you plan to work for.
You cannot work as a rideshare operator without completing this course. In addition, the NSC Defensive Driving 10th Edition 2 has to be approved by the company you plan to work for. Once you’ve finished the course, upload your certificate of completion to your dashboard.
Required by the Courts
Another reason you might need to take the Kentucky defensive driving course is a requirement from the course. You can be ordered by the courts to attend this course. This might be an option if you don’t have a suspended license. You will have to be referred to the course to use it.
The defensive driving course in Kentucky can be completed in a classroom or online. The online version allows you to work at your own pace. It will also allow you to keep your driving privileges from becoming suspended.
Eligibility for Defensive Driving in Kentucky
If you want to take defensive driving in Kentucky, you’ll need to be referred by the court. In addition, this type of driving training is only available if you don’t have a suspended license when you get a traffic violation.
Receiving a violation carrying a mandatory license suspension will make you ineligible for the course.
You’re only allowed to take this course once every 12 months. Also, if you’re not a resident of Kentucky or don’t have a license, you cannot use this defensive driving course in Kentucky.
Benefits of Kentucky Defensive Driving
You gain many benefits when you take the defensive driving course in Kentucky. This course will allow you to gain knowledge and become a safer driver. You can also keep points off your driving record. It’s even possible to satisfy an out-of-state citation with this course.
In some cases, you might receive a discount on your insurance rates. At the very least, you can keep your rates from going up.
Topics Covered in Defensive Driving
With the defensive driving course in Kentucky, you’ll learn many things. For example, when you take this online course, you will learn about the following:
- Safe driving behaviors
- Kentucky traffic laws, points, and violations
- Traffic safety facts
- Offenses including alcohol and drugs
- Driver’s licensing procedures
- Defensive driving techniques
You can gain the necessary knowledge to help you become a safer driver. This can help save you plenty of money in the future. As you avoid future citations and accidents, you can save money without even realizing it.
With the right defensive driving skills, you can save money now and in the future. It can keep your license from being suspended. You can also keep your insurance rates from going up. Of course, these skills can help you avoid accidents and getting more traffic tickets.
By completing the Kentucky defensive driving course ordered by the court, you’ll stay out of more trouble. In addition, it can help you from dealing with even bigger issues. You will also learn techniques to stay out of trouble on the roads in the future.
Just make sure you choose a state-approved provider if you take the course online. You can also opt to take it in the classroom. However, the online version will be more convenient for most drivers.
Frequently Asked Questions About Kentucky Defensive Driving
How long will the course take to complete?
The state requires the defensive driving course to be at least four hours long. You can take it in one sitting online or in a classroom. It’s also possible to complete the course online at your own pace. Whether you take it all at once or in smaller chunks, it will take four or more hours to finish.
How many times can you use Kentucky defensive driving for ticket dismissal?
The state law allows you to use the course once every 12 months to reduce points from your driving record.
Will there be a final exam to pass?
Yes, when you complete the online Kentucky defensive driving course, you will need to pass a final exam. This exam will include 30 multiple-choice questions. You will need to score at least 80% to pass.
How many times can you take the final exam if you don’t pass?
If you don’t pass the final exam the first time, you can take it up to three times. It’s important to make sure you pay close attention to the material so you can pass the final exam on the first try.
When you don’t get a passing score, you will need to retake the exam. After the third retake, if you don’t pass, you will fail the course. This means you will need to retake the entire course.
What’s the deadline for completing the defensive driving course?
The Kentucky state law requires you to complete the defensive driving course in 30 days. If you don’t complete the course within 30 days, you’ll forfeit any point reduction.
How much does the defensive driving course in Kentucky cost?
The defensive driving course is $15 if you take it in the classroom and around $39 for the online version. While the online version may cost more, you won’t need to drive to a specific location or sit in a classroom for an entire afternoon.
When you get a traffic ticket in Kentucky, you can use the defensive driving course to avoid points. It’s also required if you want to become a rideshare driver.
No matter the reason for taking the course, the online version provides convenience. You can work at your own pace and on your own schedule. So find a provider for online defensive driving in Kentucky and get started today.