Connecticut drivers can become safer and more informed on the road with a defensive driving program. Enrolling in a defensive driving course can allow you to comply with a Department of Motor Vehicles requirement, improve your driving skills, and help you save on auto insurance.
Defensive Driving Courses in Connecticut
Connecticut’s Department of Motor Vehicles has an Operator Retraining Program that focuses on drivers with multiple moving violations. Drivers will be required to attend operator retraining programs under certain circumstances.
Drivers who are 24 years of age and younger with two violations and 25 years of age or older with three violations will be required to complete operator retraining. The program is also required for drivers convicted of driving faster than 75 miles per hour in a highway work zone or commercial drivers who are convicted of driving faster than 65 miles per hour in a highway work zone.
Connecticut Defensive Driving Course Eligibility
Connecticut defensive driving courses are required under certain circumstances. The Department of Motor Vehicles will contact you if required to complete the course following multiple moving violations.
If you complete the course before the due date, your pending suspension will be removed after the DMV receives confirmation of your completion. Completing the class after your suspension becomes active will require a reinstatement fee.
Drivers in the Operator Retraining Program will be required to go 36 consecutive months without any more moving violations or face suspensions.
Connecticut Traffic Ticket Dismissal with Defensive Driving
Connecticut does not have a state law that allows drivers to dismiss traffic tickets by completing a defensive driving course. However, some particular judges and municipalities may offer dismissal on a case by case basis. If you’re interested in dismissing your traffic ticket with defensive driving, you can request permission to do so with the court.
Defensive Driving Courses Available in Connecticut
Connecticut’s defensive driving courses are available online and in-person, and drivers can choose to complete the course in a single session or multiple sessions. The course offers instruction in safe, defensive driving techniques, Connecticut traffic laws, and more. While curriculum will vary, most courses include instruction in:
- accident prevention
- defensive driving
- safe following distance
- proper passing technique
- the dangers of excessive speed
- the impact of alcohol and drugs on driving skills
- recognizing and avoiding road rage
- the importance of distraction-free driving
- vehicle safety features
- challenging driving situations
- Connecticut’s traffic laws and regulations
Defensive Driving for Car Insurance Discounts in Connecticut
Defensive driving offers essential, potentially life-saving training for the road, and it’s not just for drivers who have multiple traffic convictions. In fact, many Connecticut drivers voluntarily enroll in defensive driving to improve their driving skills and earn a discount on auto insurance rates.
Best Connecticut Auto Insurance Quotes – Gabi Insurance Compares 40+ Providers for Free!
Connecticut Defensive Driving Insurance Discounts
You can earn a discount on your auto insurance by completing a Connecticut defensive driving course. Discounts will vary depending on your insurance company’s policies, but most companies will offer a discount between 5% and 20% on auto insurance liability rates. Typically, drivers can expect a discount of about 10%.
Connecticut Defensive Driving Insurance Discount Eligibility
Connecticut does not place any limits on driver eligibility for defensive driving insurance discounts. However, some insurance companies will restrict their discount availability to certain driver groups, such as mature drivers or new drivers under 18 or 21. To find out if you’re eligible for a discount on auto insurance with defensive driving, check with your insurance company. If they can’t offer you a discount, ask around and consider switching to an insurance company where you are eligible. Most will offer you a free quote if you’re not a customer yet.
Insurance Defensive Driving Courses Available in Connecticut
Defensive driving courses offered for insurance rate reductions in Connecticut are often the same as those offered to drivers with moving violations. That means you’ll benefit from the same great curriculum that will teach you how to become a safer driver, avoid accidents, and avoid traffic tickets as well. Your actual curriculum will depend on the school offering your course, but typically, you can expect to learn about:
- staying safe in tough driving situations
- collision avoidance
- safe driving habits
- the importance of avoiding impaired, drunk, distracted, and aggressive driving
- speed’s factor in auto accidents and fatalities
- defensive driving techniques
- how to use vehicle safety features
- Connecticut’s traffic laws and regulations
Enroll in a Connecticut Defensive Driving Course
Start your course in safe defensive driving today. Use our directory to get connected with a qualified, state-approved traffic school in Connecticut.
New Haven Defensive Driving
Want the best defensive driving courses in New Haven, CT? We're looking too! Let us know who is the best in New Haven.
Waterbury Defensive Driving
Want the best defensive driving courses in Waterbury, CT? We're looking too! Let us know who is the best in Waterbury.
Hartford Defensive Driving
Want the best defensive driving courses in Hartford, CT? We're looking too! Let us know who is the best in Hartford.
Bridgeport Defensive Driving
Want the best defensive driving courses in Bridgeport, CT? We're looking too! Let us know who is the best in Bridgeport.
Stamford Defensive Driving
Want the best defensive driving courses in Stamford, CT? We're looking too! Let us know who is the best in Stamford.